Thank you for your patronage and Salon support!


Our Salon benefit on October 10 was a tremendous success! Thanks to everyone who volunteered, attended, bought raffle tickets, or otherwise enjoyed our event. It’s not only the whole B. Someday crew that wants to thank you. We also managed to get a brief interview with our guest of honor, Bertholt Brecht, who was surprisingly enthusiastic for a man who’s been out of the theatre scene for the last 30 years.

Bertholt Brecht, our guest of honor, honoring his guests.

Bertholt Brecht, our guest of honor, honoring his guests.

WALKING FISH ONLINE: So, Herr Brecht, did you enjoy yourself this evening?

BERTHOLT BRECHT: Entschuldigen Sie, bitte, but you can call me Bertholt, and of course, I had a wonderful time.

WFO: What did you like best about it?

BB: Where to begin? I have to say that the Salon is not only the past but also the future of art. And this reizende Dame, this lovely lady Carol Smythe, who opens her

Carol Smythe and Dave Bodoff in her garden

Carol Smythe and Dave Bodoff in her garden

home to us, such a generous woman, and her home and garden are so elegant. In the old days the nobility would open their homes for the artists to come and perform for their friends, because you know, coal, it’s not cheap stuff keeping the place warm. So you have the salon in your home, and people are invited, they come and perform their music, their poetry, perhaps they read the plays, although the audiences, they

Excerpts from The Good Puppet of Szechuan were performed at the Salon.

Excerpts from The Good Puppet of Szechuan were performed at the Salon.

want to see the set, ja? So maybe not so much the plays performed at salons, although you certainly did very well with the reading here tonight, and the lovely music from Melissa Santangelo. Maybe the plays in the living rooms are they way to go- ask Vaclav Havel. It’s where art becomes more personal- do we keep theatre at a distance, on the stage, or do we invite it into our some? Something to think about.

WFO: What did you think of the refreshments?

BB: I was very surprised by that kind man Bob Murphy and his ice cream from The Music Fountain. I usually prefer to just, uh, settle down with some whiskey and

Bob Murphy of The Music Fountain Cafe serving up sweet treats to the guests.

Bob Murphy of The Music Fountain Cafe serving up sweet treats to the guests.

tobacco and a good book and I’m good for the night. But the ice cream was delicious. Also, it was fantastic to taste the wines of Germany again from the gentlemen from Moore Brothers. But this is what theatre should do, and back in my youth I was angry but now I’m optimistic, it’s a way for people to come together and share their resources, and so many places gave delicious desserts and refreshments. You got the whole

Greg Morre, right, of Moore Brothers, serving German specialties to our guests.

Greg Moore, right, of Moore Brothers, serving German specialties to our guests.

list, ja?

WFO: Oh, yes. We were generously helped by Hinge Café, Mercer Café, Ida Mae’s Bruncherie, Rembrandt’s, George’s Pizza, The Aramingo Diner, Brown Betty Dessert Boutique, Wegman’s, Darlings Café, and like you mentioned, Moore Brothers Wine, the Music Fountain Café, and Palm Beer.

BB: I’m glad you know all that, because even in my forties I had to write stuff down and put it in my pocket. But you know what I can’t forget, is seeing all my old friends again, my lovely wife Helene, my good friend, that young man, what’s his name, changed his name to Peter Lorre? I love him. And of course the good Kurt Weill, he stopped talking to me after he went to New York, it’s been over half a century, but that “Mack The Knife,” it’s still a catchy tune.

WFO: There were some other friends of yours there as well, weren’t there?

Bertholt Brecht has a weakness for witty women.

Bertholt Brecht has a weakness for witty women.

BB: Well, I hope Ruth forgives me my sins, or at least I hope she quit smoking. And Elisabeth, people should know how much of The Threepenny Opera she wrote, it’s true.  Now, new people, that I did not know before, I am enamored of that Liz Bradley and Kaki Burns who did so much to make everything perfect, and that T. J., he is a wunderkind. But that Senator Joseph McCarthy? How’d he get in the door?

WFO: He said he wanted to contribute, he was anxious to meet you.

BB: Well, he should meet somebody else. You know, actually, I’m glad he was there. People like him should see what freethinkers can do, what happens when you bring people together and they give generously and make

L-R: Michelle Pauls, Sarah Corlett of the NKCDC, Bob Murphy of The Music Funtain, and Stan Heleva.

L-R: Michelle Pauls, Sarah Corlett of the NKCDC, Bob Murphy of The Music Fountain, and Stan Heleva.

art. But maybe that’s something that Senator McCarthy doesn’t get. So, the point is, many good people, good friends, good ideas, all coming together. That’s why we make theatre in the first place. This Stan Heleva, building this theatre, adapting my play, he is an ubermensch. I like him very much. He told me the play opens on November 6, so that’s not too far away. I like this with the puppets very much, seeing them change over time in production, I think this is sehr gut. They start out puppetssimple, they get more and more complex.

WFO: So, in retrospect, after having said all this, let’s revisit the original question; what did you like most about the party?

BB: All right; the ladies. Always the ladies. I might have been a Marxist and a curmudgeon, but I could never resist their sprightly charms.

ladies in black

Leave a Reply

